RSS

109 Stories.

09 Mar

The lower the elevator fell, the fewer words were spoken.

She had begun  the fight on the 109 floor of the Sears tower, starting her ranting and raving right off.  “How could you, you S.O.B…… with my sister no less!  Did you think I wouldn’t find out?  Did you think I was just another dumb blond?”  She hardly paused to  take a breath till they had hit 92.

At 91 it was his turn.  “But we were taking a break.  It wasn’t anything serious.  It was just that once… well, maybe twice.  You know it’s you I love.  I’m so sorry.  Please forgive me.  I’ll do anything.”  His posturing and whining were starting to annoy by 80.

The other passengers along for the ride and having to endure the tumultuous sparing could see that the groveling was not making much head way, and at floor 79 she started in on him again.

“Lies, all lies.  I thought what we had was real, but noooo, the relationship was fake, like totally…. plastic like the cards in your wallet.  I don’t know how I can go on…I just want to die… I hate you, I hate you, I hate you”.

General consensus was moved to side with her, she being so innocent looking and all and with the tears now starting to trickle down her face at floor 62, there was movement of eyes looking at floors and ceilings, as if to proclaim, we won’t embarrass you by staring.

At 57 he tried to reach for her in an effort to bring her close and comfort her, but she, being nobodys fool, pulled away, turned her back to him and then the sobbing really started.   Indecipherable mumbling commenced  and “what will I do’s” were intermingled with multiple efforts of handkerchiefs and “there, there nows”  being offered to stem the tide

Between 45 and 22, he pitched his last appeal.  “Come live with me… be my love… maybe we can get married.  Please, I’m sorry, forgive me, I don’t want to live without you, I can’t live without you. I love you..and only you”, and he finally ran out of steam at 21.

This last flurry of invocation created intense internal examination by the peanut gallery, who still semi-siding with her, were beginning to sway their collective though non-verbal support over in his direction.

At two stories to go, the silence was almost deafening.  With her hiccups abating, she finally turned to him, and allowed him to finally bring her close.   Words were just words now, and the public show of affection seemed to be doing the trick.

The elevator came to a smooth and efficient stop and those pressed against the back of the elevator, waited for the hugging and kissing to cease.  There was no rush.   Entertainment for the day was over and happy endings, while often few and far between, were to be savored.

Thinking Ten  –   Words, Inc., Wednesday:

(1) lower, (2) few, (3) examine, and (4) plastic

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
