RSS

Back in the Saddle

18 Jan

I just needed a little more time. It had been a while since I had closed my eyes and let my imagination run and my fingers play along the keyboard. Flashes of ideas had come and gone since first reading the headline this morning and as always seems the case, if you try to snatch at one too quickly, it just fizzles into mist and falls lightly on your shoes. At least that part had not changed.

I didn’t dare attempt to glance over to the multiple tales on the previous screens. My friends were there and their stories were shouting at me, to come and look, see what I had missed in the past several months. That was not to be. I knew that if I fell to their siren song, that all of my original ideas that had been stored up for the beginning of new productions, would just become like so many bottles afloat in the sea, so full of promise, yet when opened to explore, they would melt into a clump of faded emotions on soggy paper.

How I hated these periods of inertia between jobs. No more could ploys of scheduling, paperwork, general chaos and mayhem be acceptable excuses. Writers block be damned, there was nothing like a good excuse to fuel one into a period of complete slackness. These pages had been created just for folks just like me. Lollygagging individuals who, just like the dog in the movie “UP” could get sidetracked by anything and everything. “Squirrel !”

Put-zing around the house, running errands, finishing up this and putting away that: time was running out and while the clock was ticking I knew it was time to put on my big girl panties and get back to it. Would the white screen stare back at me with an evil grin that only I could see? Would the blinking icon, like the mime that it is, just wait patiently while I settled in to begin, again?

It didn’t really matter. It’s a start…the crawl leading to baby steps with help from an outstretched hand. So once again, the letters appear, words form, and ideas fall upon the screen…nothing prophetic, nothing sensational, nothing unforgettable. But you know how it always is, I just needed a little more time.

Thinking Ten: Take it Away, Tuesday: I just needed a little more time.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in Flash Fiction, Southern Humor

 

Tags:

One response to “Back in the Saddle

  1. somethingnewplease

    January 18, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    “…the crawl leading to baby steps…” can seem to daunting at times. And yet small children make it looks so simple.

    Unfair.

    Enjoyed your piece,
    D

     

Leave a Reply

 
