RSS

Of Uncle Sam and Vineyards.

25 Aug

Finally, back on the road for a while, phew. Tis been a long summer me thinks and “Stir Crazy” does not aptly describe the past  many weeks, however, that was then and this is now, so we won’t beat that dead horse.  We are in moving on mode and this is a good thing.

And Now…. featuring the mid-west for a month or so.

Leaving the hot, muggy, humid coast of S.C, we drove over five states and now are enjoying the hot, not quite as muggy- somewhat less humid playground of Missouri.  Up through SC, over cloud entrenched mountains of both NC and Tenn to the bluegrass of Ky, what I want to know is when did all these winery’s crop up.  I had no clue, guess I really do need to get out more.  The winning vineyard  name on a billboard, “Purple Toad Winery”, don’t know about you but I’m gonna have to get me some of that… just because.

Our trek was along what seemed to be a pretty conservative Interstate system: several were the billboards showing Uncle Sam pointing his finger with the message, ” I want YOU to vote them out, November 2nd”.  Since these are my sentiments exactly, I was able to smile, nod and whisper “Yep” under my breath a great deal during the jaunt to our destination.  We passed thru the Land of Bib Overalls and into the farmlands of Illinois.  Corn and Soy stretching for as far as the eyes can see.  I kept thinking to myself, is this the area where they filmed the movie “Twister” as the farm houses, barns and silos all looked Hollywood picture perfect from a distance?  You could close your eyes and with an imagination snapshot, visualize the cow blowing by your car window.  (If you haven’t see the movie, never mind)

Yes, since you are curious, I have seen the Arch and the Stadium  and entrance to the Zoo, but only at 65 mph, so details hopefully will follow soon. Now however, since work between play is involved, I guess I best get to doing some of that.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 25, 2010 in road warrior, Southern Humor, travel

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
