RSS

..on the job…

27 Oct

I promised myself that if I started writing again that I would stick to it and in the very least compose something every day.  Well every other day.  Well maybe twice a week.  At least something, down on paper and more than a paragraph or two.  Dang, it’s not that hard.  Or is it.  Every writer laments the hours spent staring at the blank sheet of paper in front of them.  It seems that the paper stares back and if you look hard enough it really is scowling and making ugly comments right in front of your eyes.  “Come on dude.  You know you have SOMETHING in there worth while to say”.  Perhaps it doesn’t realize how very busy I am, how important it is to get the job that I am actually paid to do done and not be goofing off writing nonsense that no one really cares to read.  Yep, that’s a cop out so I had best get to it.   My page is frowning and working into a scowl.

I bought a lottery ticket (again) this evening.  Like I’ll really win right.  But there always is that chance and what do they say, if you don’ t take the chance you’ll never have the chance.  Ah the places I would go and the things I would see.  Right?  That is what everyone says. I’d want to help the folks I know.  Share the wealth.  It would make me seem more altruistic.  That too is what everyone says.  Yea, but I’d do it.  No, really I would.  Then I would travel.  That is what everybody says also.  But where would I go?  Would it matter?  There are so many places I haven’t been, why they more than outnumber the places I have.  But that is what everyone would do.  I’d continue to work.  Well some people say that, but ..well I don’t think so..Do I LOOK stupid.   I mean I’d have a gazillion dollars to spend and wouldn’t have time to work, right?  Well that is a good theory.  I’d take a cruise.  Yep, that is really what everyone says.  I don’t know.  I like boats and all but I want to be able to fish and you can’t fish off a big ole ocean liner.  Maybe I’d just buy a medium size boat and hire a captain to take me fishing.  Yep, that would be good.  Not everybody would do that.  I’d buy a really really cool car.  Yep, that is an excellent choice that I know everybody would do.  I get scared if I’m going over 85mph so maybe that wouldn’t  be too cool for me after all.  Maybe a nice Hummer and I could actually afford the gas with my gazillion dollars.  Yep that would be good.  I’d build a huge mansion on hundreds of acres.  Well, then I’d have to hire all these people to clean and do the yard work and stuff and I’d have to pay them really well, cause gee I have all these gazllions of dollars.  But then I’d spend a lot on staff and wouldn’t have a gazillion dollars.  So maybe I won’t do that.

You know this winning the lottery and being really rich is  harder than I thought.  Maybe I’d best think about this some more.   I mean, am I prepared to handle all this money?  Would I be too foolish with it?  Would I squander it away?  Tough questions and just a lot to ponder.  But I’m glad I bought my ticket today.  You know what they say, if you don’t take a chance you’ll never have the chance.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2009 in Southern Humor

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “..on the job…

  1. Audrey

    October 27, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    well… I have a choice.. I could buy a lottery ticket of my own and wonder what I would do with it all too?… OR just save the dollar and have you hire me to work in your yard when you win… either way.. I have a chance at a Gazillion dollars LOL.. loved the blog Margaret….keep um commin… I can tell ya this much.. I sure as heck love readin um!!!

     
  2. Beth

    October 28, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Fab job as usual. A gazillion dollars? I can see Chris sitting in the corner trying to count it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
